3rd World Snow in Heights

It didn’t get noticed in the recently concluded Neil Gaiman/Fully Booked Graphic Fiction Competition. But I guess this is a good enough consolation. 3rd World Snow finally got published and it seems fitting that it appear in Heights – the literary organization I was part of when I was studying in the Ateneo.

The good people from the org sent over copies of the book via courier after I told them that it would be difficult for me to pick it up while still working in Makati. The package arrived today and I so love receiving packages like this.

I made this little story during the Lingua Comica workshop in London two years back. It was part of a collaborative piece I did with my Indonesian-Italian partner Paola Cortese. It was supposed to be appear in a compilation of our works but until now, we have no word about the status of that book.

But even if 3rd World Snow makes it into an international publication, the version printed in Heights is the definitive full-color piece.

Thank you, Heights!

>>Rommel

One comment

  1. Hello sir, I’m currently an Ateneo college senior majoring in Information Design. This sem I will have to start planning/doing my thesis and I think I’m gonna go with an El Filibusterismo graphic novel. I’d just like to know if you color your stuff using Photoshop (because I saw 3rd World Snow and it was awesome), and if you do, would it be too much to ask for a tutorial?

    Again, amazing piece of work on 3rd World Snow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

