The Not Knowing

work-in-progress

In Advertising Land when I was an art director, we always talked about clarity of concept and how what you say is married with how you say it. Many, with good reason, have talked about how concept is king and how we as creatives should place great care in developing our concepts.

Right now I’m working on some stuff on the side and I don’t know what it is or what I’m doing. I had studies with a ready concept and a nice little rationale to go with it but in the end I abandoned it. Lately, I’ve been noticing how I shy away from clear messages when I work on my personal stuff.

The truth is I don’t know what it’s about or even what I’m doing. Often it’s scary because you never know if it’ll turn out the way you hoped it would. But strangely enough, not knowing completely what the work is about is kind of fun. It’s like discovering it as you go along and somehow meanings form and reveal themselves.

Just don’t ask me to explain them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

