Metrobank Art and Design Excellence

Almost a month ago, I attended the 2012 Metrobank Art and Design Excellence (MADE) Awarding. I got in because my painting was included as a semi-finalist and was fortunate enough to be part of the exhibit. It was my first time to attend one of these shindigs and I have to say it felt awkward and uncomfortable being there. I guess I’m not used to all the fuss. The sight of bigwigs in formal attire felt so far removed from the messy and often solitary process of making the art we were celebrating that night.

2012-09-13-334-made01

Pretty far removed from my messy studio

2012-09-13-337-made02

My painting (crappy shot, I know. I went solo.)

2012-09-13-339-made03

The grand prize winning paintings

2012-09-13-342-made04

Oh, look…a Philippine senator. My painting somewhere in the background.

Nevertheless, I was glad that at least my painting got a chance to be seen by people other than my closest relatives. Hmm, come to think of it, even my closest relatives hardly see my paintings.

After the awarding itself, the exhibit area was opened for viewing. The host asked  the semi-finalists to stand beside their paintings to explain their works to prospective buyers. Something I found very awkward…so I didn’t do it. I guess I have to work on my social skills. I just roamed around the exhibit area anonymously, acting like just another viewer.

It was an odd experience seeing people taking photos of my work. Some even had their pictures taken beside my painting. All in all it was a pleasant experience.🙂

After the cocktails I slipped out of the venue and headed home.

***

Strangely though, when I was googling stuff about MADE, there were hardly any blog posts about it, with the notable exception of Daphne Oseña Paez‘s blog post about the 2011 awarding. So I thought I’d write a rough timeline of the whole process for future reference. Though, this will probably be a bit different for the grand prize winners.

May 8 to 9 – submission of artworks

May 23 – received a text from MADE that my artwork was chosen as one of the semifinalists

June 4 to 5 – submission of actual artworks

September 11 – Got a text that my painting will be included in the exhibit

September 13 – Awarding and Exhibit

Leave a Reply

